Sunday, February 5, 2012

Week 11 Lab 2


create a sphere and group it twice using ctrl-g. Change the names as shown in the outliner

select translate ball gp and create deformer>Non linear>Squash


parent the handle and squash ball gp


Lock the rotate and scale attributes for the translate ball gp


Lock the translate and scale for the rotate ball gp


Lock everything for the ball object


Lock everything except the rotate attributes for the handle


go to the squash input and change max expand pos to 0.01


as we are only using the factor value, lock the rest


create a plane and name it Ground. Scale the width and height 50x up


select frame 1 and click translate ball gp. move the ball to the upper left by setting translate X= -12 , Y=5 and set a keyframe


go to frame 100. Change translate X to 12 and move the ball down to th ground


go to frame 12 and set Translate X= -9 and Y= 0.5


go to frame 25 and set Translate X= -6.1 and Y= 3.9


go to frame 37 and set Translate X= -3 and Y= 0.5


go to frame 50 and set Translate X= -2 and Y= 2.8


go to frame 62 and set Translate X= 2.7 and Y= 0.5


go to frame 75 and set Translate X= 6 and Y= 1.6


go to frame 87 and set Translate X= 8.8 and Y= 0.5


go to frame 100 and set Translate X= 12 and Y= 0.5


open the graph editor and click translate Y and then frame the curve by clicking f


select the points at the peak and click the flatten tangent


select the valley of the curve and break tangent


Video Outcome




Sunday, January 22, 2012

Reflection for Week 11

Well, week 11 is E-learning about bouncing balls. Lab 1 was quite a piece of cake i can say. The instructions were quite clear. It is just about the time placement like which is the best time for the ball to bounce and all. That is the only difficulty i face. The graph editor was quite useful letting the ball bounce sharper. I learnt how to use the graph editor well like adding necessary keys, deleting unnecessary keys, etc. I also learnt how to use play blast and save my video into a folder. Lab 2 was the strenuous one. Everything was going easy and steady at the first part. But once it reached the stretch and squash part, my problem starts to face out. when i adjust the factor number, my ball goes totally out of shape. It is not like how it looks like in the picture. I am not sure how to set the ball factor at a specific keyframe. Once i set a factor number at example, two keyframe, the first keyframe will have the same number factor i set for the last one. They can't be different. At least i learn how to make a ball rotate in this lab. With rotation, it will make it more realistic as balls spins when they bounce. I enjoy creating bouncing balls using timing and i find the stretch and squash very interesting. I hope i will be able to get the stretch and squash right.
Week 11 Lab 1, Exercise 2



create a ground for the ball to bounce

create a sphere as a ball


set a keyframe at frame 1 when the ball is on top


set a keyframe at frame 5 when the ball is on the ground


set a keyframe at frame 10 when it bounces up


set a keyframe at frame 15 when the ball is moving forward in mid air


set a keyframe at frame 20 as the ball lands on the ground again


set a keyframe at frame 25 as the ball bounces back up


set a keyframe at frame 30 as it goes back on the ground


set a keyframe at frame 35 as it bounces back up


set a keyframe at frame 40 as it comes to a halt on the ground


adjust the graph editor to let the ball bounce sharper



Video Output




Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Week 11, Lab 1, Exercise 1

set a keyframe at 1

move ball to the other end and set the keyframe at 72

go to frame 33 and move the ball slightly above the fence and set a key

go to frame 50 and move the ball on the ground and set a key


go to frame 60 and move the ball high up a little and set a key


only selecting the Translate X and Y and centering them by frame selection


select translate Y curve at frame 50


Go Tangents>Linear


break both tangent handle apart and move both of them up a little indvidually


select all points


drag to the left till the right most points goes to frame 48


select the centre 3 key points of translate X


delete them


select traslate X left keypoint and move the right tangent handle down slightly


select translate X most right keypoint and move the left handle up slightly


select the keypoint on translate Y at frame 22


Delete it


select translate Y left most key point and move it's right tangent handle up slightly


select the point where ball bounces on translate Y and move the left tangent handle up a bit 


select Edit > Delete by Type > Static Channels to delete all uneccssary keys


Window > Playblast



Video Output